The Observatories of the Sciences of the Universe (OSU) are responsible for conducting long-term observations in the field of the sciences of the universe.

To do this, they bring together research teams and laboratories around founding themes, such as astronomy, the physics of the globe, oceanography, or the environment.

The missions of the OSU are three in number: observation, research and dissemination of scientific knowledge, in particular through university training.

The OSUs depend on the National Institute of Sciences of the Universe (INSU) of the CNRS, and are internal schools of the Universities.

The Observatory of Sciences of the Universe in the Center – Val de Loire region (OSUC) created in 2009 is thus an internal school of the University of Orleans.

It brings together several laboratories and research teams in the field of the sciences of the Universe (ISTO, LPC2E, Nançay station) as well as several laboratory teams from the large Orléans campus (CBM, PRISME, UR Science du sol de l ‘ INRAE, IDP).

The OSUC is under the supervision of 3 institutions which define its strategy: CNRS, University of Orléans and Observatoire de Paris.

For the accomplishment of its missions, the OSUC has a Support Service Research Support Unit (UAR 3116). It is currently headed by Professor Manuel Moreira of the University of Orleans.